archive | recipes | notes | e-mail | guestbook | home | profile | friendster | notebook | list 113 | random
�� chemistry. aesthetics. bristling. ��

29.IX.2003 :::: 21.36
michaelmas

Dear heavens, I have to go to chemistry lab this Saturday, I have to interrupt my parents' & brother's visit to go to chemistry lab, & have I mentioned that I am being forced to take classes far beneath my intellectual capacity?, because this lab, this lab which is going to interrupt the familial visit, covers safety precautions (a fine thing to cover in the first lab of the quarter) & using the metric system.

I am you know very tight with the metric system already. I use it in my pick-up lines.

Most pick-up lines involve jauntily leaning against something & making sexy full-on eye contact. Mine involves shaking a lot & looking at my shoes & saying, "so, you think we'll go metric this year?"

(Bonus: It's worked!!!)

Maybe more quivering than shaking.

At any rate there was a woman on Talk of the Nation today talking about aesthetics in these very idealist terms. It made me feel all squirmy to listen to someone talk about aesthetics so bluntly & so lauditorily (?) on the radio. It made me kind of angry when this public school teacher from New York City (& usually I am totally behind public school teachers from New York City) called in & said that children should be taught aesthetics in the schools, "they should be taught what's good & what's bad, because they can't tell what's not good." I bristled.

But you couldn't tell I was bristling, because bean was bristling more, because her painkillers (los calmantes) ran out early this morning & our doctor & our pharmacy didn't get their act(s) together until around 7pm. So she was bristling plenty let me tell you.

nickel wound | job safety | flood bowl | written upside down | grey escape | farmer poverty
last plane to jakarta | dictionary | universalis | santoral | colorschemer | dLand