archive | recipes | notes | e-mail | guestbook | home | profile | friendster | notebook | list 113 | random
�� the removing poem ��

26.V.2003 :::: 1.00

[only now, two years later, am i able to tell you this.]


    As if I am a danger to you, I
    have boxed away the hazards of my things:
    the swollen stacks of books, the kitchen knives,
    the pictures ashing under glass, the inks
    in bottles rattling as I lift the crate
    and cross your threshold out. Back in. Repeat.
    Hands cracking, thinning, taping up the cartons:
    The muscles bruise. The nails disintegrate.
    I shoulder out the quilts, the tea, the teaspoons:
    I liberate your house by leaving it.

    Stretch out, reach out: I break my quarantine
    each heavy night, the streets still darkening,
    and trace a line along the unlit alleys
    to look into the space that I have healed
    and torn apart: through one unblinded slit
    of window I can see, shining and lit,
    your familiar back and your outreaching arm.

erickay.june2001

nickel wound | job safety | flood bowl | written upside down | grey escape | farmer poverty
last plane to jakarta | dictionary | universalis | santoral | colorschemer | dLand