archive | recipes | notes | e-mail | guestbook | home | profile | friendster | notebook | list 113 | random
�� numismatics ��

28.IV.2003 :::: 17.57

np: the sea + cake, �sound + vision�, one bedroom

everything is up in the air! i don't know which coin to catch first as they all sort of float, un-coin-ish-ly, about in the air.

(i only say "coin" because that's the word i've assigned to the concept of my individual issues, & i did that such a while ago that i hate to let go of it. even if coins don't float about in the air.)

(also with the idea of my having coins comes the grand reward: getting to use the word numismatic, which i learned on a syndicated episode of law & order & which i have been carting around with me ever since.)

anyway among other things i have put my hyperactive-cathexis-y self back into therapy. i'd been surviving just fine without therapy for three years, largely by relying on my friends who, variably, pointed out when i needed to get over it, or let me cry when i wasn't ready to yet. failing that, i would just let the part of my brain that does my job sit down with the part of my brain that cries all the time & force them to talk to each other.

apparently this sort of thing will only get you so far & in my case it got me three years.

(also, i really can't remember now why we started this, but at kenyon jojo & i called the counsellors there les lizards.)

in other shut-up-+-heal-thyself news, i finally went back to st francis yesterday. the whole place smelled of lilies & the room was bright because the sky outside was bright, even if you couldn't see the sky. occasionally a bird would fly past the big stained-glass of saint margaret mary receiving the vision of the sacred heart, & i would think there was a bird flying through the transept. not its moving shadow flying over saint margaret mary's bowed head.

& jane was here last week to eat deliciously & to buy a thousand books at bean's store.

& mischka taught me a thing or two about statistics & pointed out that i should care about things like probability. i think i might like it a lot better if the rules had better names, instead of "the addition rule" & "the multiplication rule" & "the fundamental rule of counting."

i am reading the man who ate everything by jeffrey steingarten, because she told me to. she should have told all you all to, as well.

nickel wound | job safety | flood bowl | written upside down | grey escape | farmer poverty
last plane to jakarta | dictionary | universalis | santoral | colorschemer | dLand