archive | recipes | notes | e-mail | guestbook | home | profile | friendster | notebook | list 113 | random
�� lisa simpson ��

22.IV.2003 :::: 16.53

my psychology class, which is ostensibly about human development but secretly about conformity, is a joke & an insult to my intelligence. it makes me sad that something that intrigues me & wraps me up: can be flattened out into nothing, into this insult.

anyway i had my first exam today which was actually administered mostly on scantron (& i had thought my scantron days as behind me as my curfew days), but there was a short essay question, & an extra-credit question. the extra-credit was this: compare & contrast the two schools of thought on language acquisition in young children. i saved it for last, so by that time my handwriting was wild & pretty in its wildness.

i stood waiting for the bus to take me home & i watched these orange tulips across the street. i watched the tulips which bent & leaned at a 40� angle to the ground & i felt the wind in my own now-short hair. i have said it before but i still like how all the young green things look when the sky is all wet like it is today. not wet but full of wet.

anyway on the way home i realized that most of the points i made about nativism / chomsky / the language acquisition device, in my extra credit answer, were points that were totally covered not in our textbook, but in books i own & love & re-read faithfully. yes. i am that kid in the class. i am lisa simpson.

(i have underpants with lisa simpson on them. she is graduating in a cap & gown, in an allover pattern. sadly, i was not wearing them today.)

nickel wound | job safety | flood bowl | written upside down | grey escape | farmer poverty
last plane to jakarta | dictionary | universalis | santoral | colorschemer | dLand