archive | recipes | notes | e-mail | guestbook | home | profile | friendster | notebook | list 113 | random
�� questions of style ��

14.III.2003 :::: 19.32

i made myself sad by reading my paper diary at work today & wondering why i do not write in it either as frequently or as well as i used to.

i never say things like this anymore:

At 743 pm I am standing in the kitchen trying to grind some cumin & some mustard by hand in the suribachi, and I am pressing so hard that the little CD player skips while "J�ga" is reaching the really stirring bit again. And I am singing along, skips and all, and I am remembering when Jojo & I watched the video for the first time and how my heart leapt up on seeing the land and Jojo said, "Oh this must be Ice Land," just like that, as if it were two words and not one.

i'd also like to take this opportunity to disapprove of the literary device that is the narrative coming out through a diary or a letter, but all the dialogue is meticulously preserved, pages & pages of it. i also hate the variation of one person sitting & telling a story, with the same quality of dialogue preservation.

i have been telling people recently, i think stylization is the most important thing we have going for us. i think realism is an errant pursuit. maybe nobody should come to my cocktail party because i might drink too much & start yelling about the inadequacies of the italian renaissance.

nickel wound | job safety | flood bowl | written upside down | grey escape | farmer poverty
last plane to jakarta | dictionary | universalis | santoral | colorschemer | dLand