archive | recipes | notes | e-mail | guestbook | home | profile | friendster | notebook | list 113 | random
�� liver-tastic ��

3.III.2003 :::: 14.56

np: heavenly, �space manatee�

i just want to curl up & read the light years with the radio on very gently in the background, but before starting that i wanted to look up some things in as you like it. here is what i was seeking:

Rosalind [as Ganymed]. Love is merely a madness, and I tell you, deserves as well a dark house and a whip as madmen do; and the reason why they are not su punish'd and cur'd is, that the lunacy is so ordinary that the whippers are in love too.

...that is the part i am fond of dredging up, but it goes on:

Ros. ...the whippers are in love too. Yet I profess curing it by counsel.

Orlando. Did you ever cure any so?

Ros. Yes, one, and in this manner. He was to imagine me his love, his mistress; and I set him every day to woo me. At which time would I, being but a moonish youth, grieve, be effeminate, changeable, longing and liking, proud, fantastical, apish, shallow, inconstant, full of tears, full of smiles; for every passion something, and for no passion truly any thing, as boys and women are for the most part cattle of this color; would now like him, now loathe him; then entertain him, then forswear him; now weep for him, then spit at him; that I drave my suitor from his mad humour of love to a living humor of madness, which was, to forswear the full stream of the world, and to live in a nook merely monastic. And thus I cur'd him, and this way will I take upon me to wash your liver as clean as a sound sheep's heart, that there shall not be one spot of love in't.

Orl. I would not be cur'd, youth.

Ros. I would cure you, if you would but call me Rosalind, and come every day to my cote and woo me.

Orl. Now, by the faith of my love, I will. Tell me where it is.

Ros. Go with me to it, and I'll show it you; and by the way, you shall tell me where in the forest you live.

i am glad i live in a time where the physical seat of love is said to be the heart. i have no romantic feelings in the gut-ish area of my liver. unless you count little nervous crush-y feelings.

when shelley drowned in italy and they had to cremate him, someone said, "what an unusually large heart he had! how poetic!" & reached in & pulled it out of the fires, but then much later they analyzed it & found it to have been his liver. ha!

(i heard on the radio once that your liver is the size of a six-pack. frequently i look down at my sort-of-small midsection & wonder how this can be true.)

nickel wound | job safety | flood bowl | written upside down | grey escape | farmer poverty
last plane to jakarta | dictionary | universalis | santoral | colorschemer | dLand