archive | recipes | notes | e-mail | guestbook | home | profile | friendster | notebook | list 113 | random
�� mischka approved this conversational transcription ��

21.I.2003 :::: 15.26

mischka: so at lunch today i wasn't watching cnn, because i never do, & while all the "important news" was being read by the woman i didn't recognize, what jumped to my attention was down at the bottom, where it said that superbowl sunday is the 3rd highest date for consumption of avocados in the US-

ricka: oh. hey do you know who is playing in the superbowl!

mischka: [little scoffing sound.]

ricka: what. is it that you know & you are insulted that i would ask, or is it that you don't care & are insulted that i would think that you do care?

mischka: well, one, you thought I might know, two you thought I might care, & three, you interrupted me.

ricka: i'm sorry. i thought you were finished.

mischka: well, i wasn't. what concerned me was, what are the two highest days, if this is the third?

ricka: cinco de mayo.

mischka: that's what i thought. that's number one.

ricka: &... fourth of july?

mischka: that's what i thought. but it's memmmmorial day.

ricka: that's what i was going to say if you had let me keep guessing.

mischka: you hate guessing.

ricka: & i was guessing. ca-

mischka: you had already used your two guesses.

ricka: anyway! it's tampa bay!

mischka: [nothing]

ricka: don't you care? doesn't anything leap to mind?

mischka: um, no.

ricka: song lyrics?

mischka: no. but i'm guessing it's probably the mountain goats.

ricka: "& the chicago cubs will beat every team in the league / & the tampa bay buccs will take it all the way to the top"?

mischka: ah.

ricka: "& i will love you again / i will love you / like i used to"?

mischka: ah.

ricka: i am going to fucking watch the superbowl.

mischka: go right ahead.

ricka: & when tampa bay wins i am going to call you.

mischka: & say, what, you're just waiting for the chicago cubs to win?

ricka: & demand that you love me again like you used to.

mischka: hey, wait, i didn't write that song.

ricka: well, i already love you like i used to.

mischka: i place no bets on sports teams regarding my emotional involvement. that's just stupid.

ricka: i'm telling you. you will love me again like you used to.

[pause]

ricka: i want to put this whole thing in my diary. can i put this whole thing in my diary?

mischka: [laughing] no, because you won't transcribe it correctly.

ricka: well, i will send you a draft for your approval.

:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:

also, because i know everyone loves reading e-mails from my parents, this is what my mother sent me today:

Is it freezing up there? We sure are tired of winter already. Can't wait to go fishing. Your dad says he won't even complain about tics [sic] if it will just warm up again!

:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:

oh, the phone, it is ringing & ringing. i wish people would learn that we close at 4.00. it is now 4.00. i don't have to answer the phone.

i just have to leave & listen to post on my way home. remind me, the next time i am insufferably, disgustingly morose, that it is impossible for me to listen to �it's oh so quiet� without smiling. it's true. i break out into a giant idiotic grin, right there on the bus.

nickel wound | job safety | flood bowl | written upside down | grey escape | farmer poverty
last plane to jakarta | dictionary | universalis | santoral | colorschemer | dLand