archive | recipes | notes | e-mail | guestbook | home | profile | friendster | notebook | list 113 | random
�� anyway i leant into the pole ��

21.XII.2002 ::: 14.45

np: kristin hersh, �me and my charms� (strings version)

what happened to me on the way home. downtown between buses i had a bit of time so i went into the cvs there to get a coke. as i was paying for it ($1.26, i dug around my person for the right change), i noticed a very shiny face-up-good-luckpenny, sitting right there on top of some freedent gum, in the display that is in front of the cashier counter & below the counter at the same time. after i paid for my coke i sort of stooped down to get the penny. as i was walking out of the store i hoped she didn't think i was just stealing the gum.

when the bus came this woman got on, then got right back off. when she got off the bus she was hopping, like a small child pretending to be a bunny rabbit.

i stood up when my stop approached & walked toward the door. there was a man in a plaid jacket standing in my way. as the bus slowed i had nothing to grab onto so i sort of leant into the pole that was right there � i have excellent balance for someone as ordinarily-clumsy as i am (yes, like an adolescent boy, who hasn't had all these years i've had to get used to the height of the inhabited body), & i think i would make an okay surfer if i ever lost respect for the ocean & threw myself into it headlong with just a little board the size of me for company � anyway i leant into the pole & right as i did so he put one hand around it, the pole. so that as i leant in, one breast rested right on the back of his hand. i'm sure he didn't notice � i was bundled in sweater & coat � but i noticed, especially after yesterday's relentless encounter with my own touch cathexis.

(tonight is going-out-to-a-bar night. you who know me, marvel at my going-out-to-a-bar. yes, marvel.)

nickel wound | job safety | flood bowl | written upside down | grey escape | farmer poverty
last plane to jakarta | dictionary | universalis | santoral | colorschemer | dLand