archive | recipes | notes | e-mail | guestbook | home | profile | friendster | notebook | list 113 | random
�� everything made out of jeans ��

4.X.2002 :::: 16.52 saint francis

yesterday i picked out the new specs. they arrive next week & involve, yes, rhinestones. besides being more glam, by next week i should also be over this cold, which although annoying has been a nice excuse for me to leave work today at noon-thirty.

as i was standing leaning against the bus stop shelter & reveling in the heat of the sky, eyes closed, this man came up to me & tapped me on the shoulder. i opened my eyes & took off my headphones. "do you have enough change for the bus?" he said. i told him yes & put my headphones back on.

when i opened my eyes again a couple of moments later he was leaning in very close to me. i took the headphones off & raised my eyebrows at him.

he said, "do you love the sunshine?" he pointed to the top of his head. "it feels good here." he indicated his shoulders. "& here." he was staring at me, not blinking.

he made a gesture about being tall. "you are very. tall," he said. he brought his hands back together. "& you are very. polite." he reached out toward my hair. "& you have the most beautiful. hair." he stepped back. "do you have a? a boyfriend or something?"

i told him i was married. it is almost as true as anything else & much, much easier than a full explanation would be.

he stepped back a little further. he told me all about his son, who is fifteen years old, about five feet seven, who is gorgeous with thin lips & a nice nose, who likes everything made out of jeans, if they made shoes out of jeans he would wear them. as the bus pulled up he asked me did i like jeans.

i stepped up to the curb & said no, i didn't, really.

nickel wound | job safety | flood bowl | written upside down | grey escape | farmer poverty
last plane to jakarta | dictionary | universalis | santoral | colorschemer | dLand