archive | recipes | notes | e-mail | guestbook | home | profile | friendster | notebook | list 113 | random
�� questioni mondiali ��

20.VII.2001 :::: 17.08 el ni�o de bel�n

as i waited in line at the bank, watching cnn with everyone else in line, while they showed footage of the riots in genoa, a man in front of me smiled when the authorities turned the fire hoses on the protestors & he said: "hnh. if it's as hot-n-humid there as it is here, that might not be too bad!"
there was a pause. more footage.
the man behind me said, "yeah, i know we have our own troubles, but i'd much rather stay here."
the man in front of me said, "yeah, this stuff doesn't happen in columbus."
which leads me to some conclusions: namely: that these men clearly believe that the riots in genoa are genoa-related & not world-related (my brain coughs: "questioni mondiali"): & that there are no riots, there is no protesting, there are no authorities killing citizens, in ohio. (cincinnati at eastertime? it never happened.)

anyway it is the new moon. also: i fell up the stairs this morning, bashing my foot. also: a patient yelled this morning, first at M & then at me, & in doing so she caused another patient to cry she yelled that loud. also: i have stopped counting the number of men who have come up to me today only to tell me things they think about this tattoo.
for all of this (& the men at the bank), i blame the moon, new & hidden.

:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:

tec says the ocean is nothing to fear. i cannot speak for chris but i can say: the ocean touches everything & it does not stop. it overwhelms.

other things that overwhelm me include staircases (from the vantage of the bottom), the flat of I-70 between dayton & indianapolis, speaking spanish, & leaving my room. also kneeling at mass.

so i sit in ohio & weave beads together, stitch, stitch; & think, i don't want to be here i want to face the sea; & sit here nonetheless, wishing i knew what out of my thoughts is the illness & what out of my thoughts is the divine.

Todo lo que quieras pedir, p�delo por los m�ritos de mi infancia y tu oraci�n ser� escuchada.

nickel wound | job safety | flood bowl | written upside down | grey escape | farmer poverty
last plane to jakarta | dictionary | universalis | santoral | colorschemer | dLand