archive | recipes | notes | e-mail | guestbook | home | profile | friendster | notebook | list 113 | random
�� respira lentamente y profundamente okay ��

25.V.2001 :::: 22.16 san bernardino de siena

ten twenty thirty forty
tell me that you wanna scold me
tell me that you need to sorely
tell me that you a-dore me

in the background: the challenger is cutting off all the suction cups from the squid, & setting them aside. (secretly: i enjoyed eating suction cups, eating octopus in japan, when i ate such things, a lot of years ago.)

i am at mischka's house, & bleary-eyed. i will stay up late tonight & pay for it tomorrow. for now coca-cola is on my side.

:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:

the things i get myself into.

1. today: we had a patient from west africa with very little english, & although we had insisted that she bring a translator, no one showed up to interpret. but: since she had a little of a french creole & i retain a little textbook french, alice my take-no-shit boss shut us in a room together to see what happened. (mainly what happened is that my co-workers were impressed.) she was very patient with me & when she was leaving her cousin, a young man with excellent english & no front teeth, asked me if he could call me sometime. i told him i am married.

2. also today: an absolutely-english-less patient from mexico came in for her abortion & what the hell since i'd already stretched myself out trying to speak textbook french to people, alice shut us into a room together to see what happened. & whaddaya know, my spanish is actually okay. (this is all thanks to bean's familia, who would be aghast i'm sure to know to what end i am using my spanish.)

2.5. moment of giddiness: forgetting the word for "ice," talking in spanish. thinking only of "iron" instead. trying to describe ice as: water that you put in the refrigerator so that it becomes solid. "�agua fr�o?" no. but eventually i got the word back.

3. on wednesday a patient kicked me out of procedure. she did not like me & made no effort to be civil. (alice described her as a "junkie personality" which i thought was a little too know-it-all & pop-psych of her, but then alice can be very much of both.) such rejection! (i'm glad she expelled me. it meant i didn't have to deal with her.)

:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:

today i was looking through beads & i found bean's plastic container of shark teeth. (she did grow up in miami.) for kicks i took out the biggest one & pressed the point of it into my thumb, & it didn't hurt. of course, the jaws of the shark are very strong anyway. of course, these teeth have been worn down by the sea.

nickel wound | job safety | flood bowl | written upside down | grey escape | farmer poverty
last plane to jakarta | dictionary | universalis | santoral | colorschemer | dLand