archive | recipes | notes | e-mail | guestbook | home | profile | friendster | notebook | list 113 | random
�� how i became a minor celebrity ��

17.IV.2001 :::: 21:15 easter tuesday

today on campus a kid came up to me & said �hello ericka� & when i said i did not know him he said �i saw you get baptized on saturday� & so that is how i became a minor celebrity.

about easter weekend i find that i have suprisingly little motivation to say all the things that are spinning around in my head.

but: to let you know: i woke up on saturday at 5.30 & read pertinent bits of the seven storey mountain & woke my parents up on the telephone & all before 7.00.

i don't know what to say about the vigil service itself except that i spent a lot of time thinking �how how how did i get here� & to be baptized i stood in the font & had three great pitchers of water poured over me. i got baptized in my pyjamas.

& the giddiness continued well past midnight into iron chef with bean + hermanito, & a hugely expensive brunch with my family, & a subsequent crash-for-hours sunday afternoon.

(i hate to write like this.)

i am fascinated by the arms of my priest. i am fascinated by my own fascination with religious. it's a little too bellini's ecstasy of st teresa of �vila for me.

i am still d�rang�e & in two hours fortyfive minutes the state i live in is going to kill someone & i am sure the governor, the descendant of an ineffectual president, will not step in.

:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:

I went downstairs and out into the street to go to my happy execution and rebirth.
.....
And He called out to me from His own immense depths.
...:.Thomas Merton The Seven Storey Mountain

nickel wound | job safety | flood bowl | written upside down | grey escape | farmer poverty
last plane to jakarta | dictionary | universalis | santoral | colorschemer | dLand