archive | recipes | notes | e-mail | guestbook | home | profile | friendster | notebook | list 113 | random
�� no volver� into a calabaza ��

5.IV.2001 :::: 23.38 san vicente ferrer

it is good to have thursday off each week. today i worked all day on lemon-honey-poppyseed bread: many hours of fermentation / rising & finally an evening kitchen full of lemon-smell. in the morning bean & i watched all about eve. which prompts us to want to watch, again, todo sobre mi madre: which i know is in spanish but which i remember as being in english.

in other spanish-to-english noticias, there was much confusion tonight when i was on shift & answered the phone, "24-rape helpline," & it turned out to be bean's family. her mother is in hospital with a blood clot in her leg. she is doing fine & is on bloodthinners & everything is going to be okay.

between all about my mother (in which Bette Davis Kicks Ass) & the phone call, bean & i went on a picnic (because it is fucking fabulously gorgeous outside) & came home for a fabulous nap.

now she is sewing curtains for the bedroom (dark blue with stars on them. the bedroom is blued for her & the living room is redded for me & the kitchen is oranged for me & the bathroom is blued for her. our colors all over) & i am huddled here in her studio with my bare feet getting chill. soon i will make myself some lemon-honey-poppyseed toast, & take it into bed with me along with my c�zanne mug full of tea.

(my favorite new Tea To Have At Home is celestial seasonings after-dinner tea [either vanilla-hazelnut or english-toffee] made with hot soymilk instead of hot water, & with a generous glop of honey. oh. bean says i need to stop using my orgasm voice for bread. also for tea. also for food of any kind.)

:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:

food of any kind. last night i got into an argument with the rcia director over next week's parish seder meal, at which there will be the obligatory lamb (exodus 12:1-28). she insists that i eat "just a tiny bite" & kept trying to persuade me by telling me it is "important ritually" that i go against my moral convictions in this case.

as i told becky in a very ranty venty e-mail: i am disgusted; i may be extraordinarily full of sin but this is my one firm principle; i am having lots of thoughts relating this woman & her proposed "tiny bite" to the pharisees, which is probably very prideful on my part but i don't care.

is it rude for me to bring my own food to the seder? i don't know. tell me.

:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:

i have now successfully stayed up until midnight: & no volver� into a calabaza but it is an hour past my bedtime (i've had caffeine) & i should probably look into that soymilk tea & that lovely toast on my way out.

nickel wound | job safety | flood bowl | written upside down | grey escape | farmer poverty
last plane to jakarta | dictionary | universalis | santoral | colorschemer | dLand