archive | recipes | notes | e-mail | guestbook | home | profile | friendster | notebook | list 113 | random
�� a most absurd day not to get mail ��

19.II.2001 :::: 9:58:20 st conrad of piacenza

Yesterday I dreamt something about a school bus (I tend to dream about buses, neh?) but after the school bus part I was in this strange terminal with Kristen Hersh, Addiest, Sylvia, & someone else I've forgotten. We were sitting in uncomfortably contoured plastic terminal-ish chairs & none of us were looking at Kristen Hersh, but Addie was having a conversation with her & Sylvia was interviewing her perhaps for WKCO. I was afraid to speak up but at one point Kristen Hersh made it quite clear that she had read Addie's diary & approved of it:: but that the one day she had chosen to read mine, she had been disappointed. Oh my.

:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:

I am trying not to get myself up in a stir about Presidents' Day which affects me in one way only: the post office is closed. The schools I went to & the places where I have worked are not the sorts that honor those secular holidays (although we get Roe v Wade, 22 january, as a paid holiday at the clinic� plus I still had the mail on that day, win-win). Presidents' Day ranks as Third Place for Most Absurd Day Not To Get Mail, just behind Veterans' Day (my issue with V-Day is that it used to be Armistice Day but somewhere along the line they decided that peace was not as fun to celebrate as soldiers), but Columbus Day has got them both beat by a long shot. The Viking-Icelander bits of me & the Cherokee bits are all offended by Columbus Day. (Never mind that I live in a city with giant statues of him in front of Important Buildings, & a life-size replica of the Santa Maria decaying in the Scioto River downtown.)

nickel wound | job safety | flood bowl | written upside down | grey escape | farmer poverty
last plane to jakarta | dictionary | universalis | santoral | colorschemer | dLand