archive | recipes | notes | e-mail | guestbook | home | profile | friendster | notebook | list 113 | random
�� science geek ��

28.IX.2003 :::: 22.18

Now that my financial aid has come through I can take classes again at the community college. This quarter I am taking introductions to biology & to chemistry, which are frankly an insult to my intelligence on the one hand, but which I am certain to do well in. (Such are the consequences of attending a fancy liberal arts school with shall-we-say lenient science requirements.)

I am thinking fond thoughts of taking unnecessary classes in things like organic chemistry. I figure, how bad can it be? It's at a community college! If I am going to take organic chemistry this seems like the way to do it.

My parents are shocked, shocked, that I am going to graduate/nursing school (after, you know, these easy community-college deals). First they were shocked, shocked, that I did not want to be an academic, that I did not want a PhD. (Here is what I would like about a PhD: a cramped office at some tiny college, an office I could line with books & hide out in. Also, getting paid to talk about things that interest me.)

I have wanted to be a science geek since I was three. Now I can sort of be one. In an under-challenged, community-college, waiting-to-get-into-graduate/nursing-school kind of way.

nickel wound | job safety | flood bowl | written upside down | grey escape | farmer poverty
last plane to jakarta | dictionary | universalis | santoral | colorschemer | dLand